Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

9:27 a.m. - 2004-08-10
I WAS in such a good mood...maybe I'm just tired.
(As I was about to write this the phone rang, it was a tele-charity. I didn't mean to hang up on them. I had the cordless propped against my shoulder and it just kinda happened.)(It turns out that the phone died because of a low battery.)

I'm just trying to ignore the stupidity of people. I was signing into hotmail and there was a link for a dating quiz. After taking it

http://msn.match.com/msn/article.aspx?articleid=1897&TrackingID=516165&BannerID=541888

and being torn between choices 1 & 5 on question # 2

2. When considering why your last few relationships ended, you are generally:

� Honest and rational about the reasons, good or bad (Score = 1)

� Somewhat bitter, but Rome wasn't built in a day (Score = 2)

� Capable of at least some self-deception when assigning blame (Score = 3)

� Announce to the world that you were the innocent victim each and every time (Score = 4)

� Put on a Nine Inch Nails CD and curse all women (Score = 5)

I clicked on the link entitled "facing a battle of the bands?" only to find this garbage:

Surviving your musical differences

By Bob Strauss

http://msn.match.com/msn/article.aspx?articleid=2520&articleSrc=5&sid=04E9AAB0-72F0-43BC-B7FC-0EFF5BACD29A&trackingid=516165&theme=210&lid=164

""�If music be the food of love, play on.� That wee bit of the Bard is all well and good, but let�s face it: Shakespeare never had to deal with gangsta rap, country-and-western ballads, or Hoobastank. If you and your mate are at each other�s throats over your differing tastes in music, here are some ways to defuse the situation � or, at any rate, to make sure that your own genre of choice (which everyone knows is the only one that really makes sense) prevails...

...Get pregnant. It sounds drastic, but it works. Not only will this get your boyfriend to stop playing his Jethro Tull CD�s, it�ll change his listening habits for the rest of his life. Once you�re pregnant, it�s a man�s duty to cater to your every whim, no matter how unreasonable, and this includes not making the fetus cranky by exposing it to late �70�s hair bands. Plus, if he happens to object to Jewel playing in the background 24 hours a day, show him the latest study from the New England Journal of Medicine proving that precious, wispy vocals correlate strongly with improved third-grade reading scores. ""

Good Fucking advice Bob. Just to get a guy to change his musical tastes, get pregnant. Is that how this world got so fucking crowded?! So what, if I happened to like 'light' music and my girlfriend liked 'heavy' music I should intentionally knock her up?! Sorry I knocked you up babe, but I just couldn't stand listening to your music anymore.

This article pops up on my radar after I have a conversation with a girl about how different lifestyle choices can affect a relationship. In my opinion (which doesn't count for much considering I've been quite single for quite awhile)there are certain things that can doom a relationship. Most people take these things for granted, but they can subtly erode a relationship as each partner begins to resent the other.

RELIGION. All around the world people are fighting battles small and large over religion. People are willing to be suicide bombers in the names of their religions. If a couple doesn't share a religion, or doesn't have atleast compatible religions and both people are truly sincere in their beliefs there could be problems.

DRINKING / DRUG USE. I'll lump them together for sake of ease. If one partner uses / abuses a substance (or any other addiction like gambling) and the other one doesn't approve, a choice will have to be made. What is more important to you, your partner or your addiction? If you try to hide your addiction from your partner, you're just lying. Why waste eachother's time like that?

MUSICAL TASTES. Let me just cite my classic example. A sassy goth girl headbanger dates a rocks for brains, rap is the coolest thing around, let me waste our income tricking out my ride yo jock. He's gonna treat her like his music tells him he should and she's just going to let him. Better to be secure with your abusive partner than to be insecure all alone.

Am I stereotyping? Yes! People define themselves through their choices. Ideas spread through communities via communication. Currently music is the media of choice for spreading ideas. It takes patience to read a book. It takes no effort to listen to music or watch a music video.

Let's continue to cultivate this stupidity.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!