Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

6:07 p.m. - 2004-09-14
A few words from whomever I am at the moment...
Taking a break from homework. No really, I was doing homework for English and Statistics. I just need the break before starting on Thursday's Sociology article analysis.

If my hard drive hadn't crashed, then I'd be able to print out the article. Instead, with this tiny hard drive, I can only use adobe to read it from the screen. This screen goes kinda wavy every time I press a key. It's not like the colors are moving, it's that other layer, like the refresh rate that just keeps jumping around with each key stroke. I've been wanting to drive up to Ashtabula the last several days to pick up new hard drive, but it's usually so late when I get the time.

I think I mentioned that my classes seem to be intertwined. In today's English class we watched a video on how exploited and objectified women are in advertising. Basically, sex sells. Well, today's Sociology lecture touched on those same issues from its perspective.

As English class was ending I started a conversation with a girl that's in both my English and Sociology classes. We kept talking as we headed to the library, and in the library. We even sat together in Sociology. (Some of you already know to whom I'm referring) Well, it was as I predicted, somewhere in the conversation she mentioned her boyfriend's mother. So I managed to answer that vital question without screwing things up. Besides, there's nothing wrong with making new friends. She's majoring in psychology as well. She asked me what I intend to do with my degree. I told her I'm not quite sure which part of the field I want to go into as long as it's not a high school guidance counsellor. Later I mentioned that I'd rather be a psychiatrist so that I would be able to prescribe medication, but that I wouldn't necessarily do so.

See, I can be rational. I didn't let myself crush all over someone that I can't have. (Although "I just want something I can never have" is still one of my favorite Nine Inch Nails songs) I can be friends with someone without expecting anything in return. Besides, I'm still viewing women like I did at Hollywood goth clubs. By safely assuming them all to be dating someone else, I don't get silly notions of ever dating them.

That goes back to something from English: after the video one guy had assumed the speaker to be unmarried because he wouldn't marry her. One of the girls in the class told him that "was one of the worst things that he could ever say to a woman." And "how would you feel if I said I don't find you attractive and wouldn't date you, that no woman would."

I guess I can add that to my list of things to never say to a woman:

5. I wouldn't marry/date you, no one would

4. You're worthless

3. Bitch

2. Cunt

and

1. Any combination of the above, i.e. worthless bitch

I may have made that mistake in the past... and that's where it should stay. I usually learn from my mistakes, assuming I know that I made a mistake.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!