Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

5:21 p.m. - 2004-09-23
A Sad Milestone
It could be seen as just another greatest-hits collection, but when Marilyn Manson is involved, nothing is ever that simple. He prefers to call Lest We Forget: The Best of Marilyn Manson "a farewell compilation."

"You get frustrated sometimes when you know that your heart is really buried in your art, and you know more success equals being more mediocre," Manson said. "So you have to redefine success, and you can't compete with people who don't do what you do. It's not really a 'greatest hits' because I was never really a top-40 artist."

For his first single from Lest We Forget, however, Manson chose a cover of a top-40 hit, Depeche Mode's "Personal Jesus," which charted back in 1989.

"I thought if I had to write a song, this is exactly what I would say," Manson said. "And that's why I picked this song, because I think it takes a little more of an ironic tone when you put it in context with what's going on today."

(Courtesy of VH1.com)


The selfish bastard that I am see this as: I will never get to see Marilyn Manson in concert. Trent Reznor is supposed to be making another album. I WILL go to at least one of the concerts. I would have gone to this last December's Manson concert, but it was cancelled. Perry Ferrel cancelled so Manson cancelled.

It's another giant chunk of regret being dropped on my head, smashing me open like an over ripe melon. So many concerts I haven't been able to go to because of not being allowed to go as a teenager; so many that just never came near where I was stationed in the Army; so many that only came around when I was off training somewhere. Too much of my identity is tied up in musicians. Yeah, I could change that, but would I want to?

Going to try to clean some clutter out of my room...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!