Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

8:05 p.m. - 2004-09-27
Bday summary so far
I took my Sociology exam today twice. I was going to study for it, but I still haven't taken the book out of the plastic. Looks like I didn't need to though. I passed the test the first time with an 88% and the second time with a 90%. After each time of taking the test it shows what I answered wrong, but the questions are randomly selected each time I take the test.

Tomorrow for English we're supposed to discuss Gum-Dipped. Most of the people in class are going to look at me as immature for calling the book perverted. There's a problem though, it is. Telling us that her dad taught her and her son a life lesson by having them wash his genitals is one thing; describing her dad's pecker in livid detail? That's perverted. To think that the campus bookstore considers it a text book.

Dagohir practice counted as a school event for Student Success Seminar so I wrote about it. I will be typing it up soon. Dr. Ritchey told me that I'm only one of two students in the class with perfect attendance. Well, as much as I procrastinate on doing my homework, it's no excuse not to go to class. Besides, I'll be in Germany for three weeks. That's six of each class and three statistics labs that I'll be missing. If the Army instilled one thing in me it's that showing up is the most important thing you can do. Then comes having a spiffy uniform, but I don't like their appearance is more important than performance mentality.

This afternoon, after I left campus later than usual with a lot of my homework completed and after I had eaten, I installed an orange rope light under my car for some Halloween ground effects.

An MSN article about hiding five extra pounds with the clothes you wear said "Plus black never goes out of style." *shrugs*

On my way off campus I figured something out... it just kinda clicked. I just may be normal. I use the word average a lot, with a negative tone to it, but that's the point to this. Somewhere along the line, as I was getting teased by other children growing up, I must have either come to the conclusion that there must be something wrong with me or that there's something wrong with being normal. Hell, maybe both together: If I am normal, but I get picked on, there must be something wrong with being normal.

It might change my outlook a bit to have this realization, but it's not going to make me accept Abercrombie or whomever it is whose name should be on my shirt this season. I saw a commercial for the show "What Not to Wear." They claimed that they don't try to change a person's personality, just how their clothes highlight that personality. I call bull shit. There was one girl in the commercial who was wearing fishnets and a mini skirt; they put her in a friendly pastel sweater and some 'smart' pants. I'd call that a personality change.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!