Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2:06 a.m. - 2004-12-20
First night of driving for Papa John's
On my very first delivery things were going as well as could be expected. I'd overshot the road I needed, but that was no big deal. I had a map with me. I back-tracked and found it alright.

It was on the way back that a mini disaster struck. For those of you not current on tonight's weather in this part of Ohio, here's the forecast: Snow, lots of it. Snow on the roads; snow still falling. Out in the North Canton area the plow trucks were a bit behind. In addition to that, certain areas of our delivery zone are not part of North Canton and have to fend for themselves for plowing.

Okay, enough suspense. I was driving back to the store along one of the main roads except as far out as I was it wasn't part of North Canton. Up ahead, getting ever closer, I see this gigantic buck standing in the middle of the road. If I were a hunter I'd probably have me a new trophy for my wall. I attempted to slow down. I attempted to stop. I ended up clipping someone's plastic mailbox and careening partially into a ditch. By partially I mean my front wheel drive would be going no where without help. The headlights that were silhouetting the deer belonged to a Chevy Blazer driven by a man and his wife. My tow strap came in handy when combined with the luxury of their 4 Wheel Drive. (I still think I need a winch mounted in my car.)

The rest of the night went rather smoothly for me personally. I received two dollars per delivery for quite awhile. Then I received a few four and five dollar tips. My tips totalled $36. I added that to the tip money from Friday when I rode with Chris and the other money that was still in my wallet. I then deposited all of that in my checking account via the atm. (I'm trying to be responsible.)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!