Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

6:36 a.m. - 2005-04-03
It's the end of the world...
...or so it seems.

Here in the Akron/Canton area of Ohio it was snowing today. No big deal. Ohio weather is screwy like that. But then it was lightning while it was still snowing. Spooky.

Even spookier was how I got to see that lightning up close and personal.

I'd just got off from working at Papa John's tonight. I was sitting in my car filling out my bank deposit envelope before I drove down to the atm to make the deposit. I kept seeing flashes of light that I assumed were lightning. I drove a couple of blocks from work toward the bank...when suddenly a huge bolt of lightning arced across the sky. It knocked out all of the power in North Canton for a moment. As the lights were coming back on again, I turned into the bank parking lot. Lightning struck the building several times. Then the power lines on the building started sizzling in the air. I backed out of there in a hurry.

On my way back toward the store the power flickered several times from lightning. I got to the store and told them about the bank. Then as I was driving toward home, everytime I came to a stop the lightning (that seemed to be following me) flickered the lights around me. I got to another bank and managed to make the deposit without the bank getting struck.

[Changing topics]

I'm still somewhat sick. I think I have pink eye to go with it, but I'm not sure. My eyes are somewhat bloodshot and I woke up with lots of green gunk crusted on my eyelashes and in the corners of my eyes.

Hope everyone enjoyed losing an hour of time to daylight savings time. We can all thank Benjamin Franklin for proposing the idea that didn't go into effect until the 1960s or so.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!