Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

6:36 p.m. - 2010-07-16
...
What shall I write about? Nailbunny could tell you of my consternation. Of my ups and downs. Of feeling such tender happiness and such harrowing remorse. Maybe he will. So many scattered parts of me. At least he still has a voice.

I have been reminded that I am the villain of this story. But how shall I behave? One man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter. I know that I am neither. I like to think I am principled, but it doesn't always feel that way. I just want to be happy. I just want those I care for to be happy as well.

-----------------------------------------------------

Enough of metaphors for awhile.

My car died Friday night coming back from Twinsburg. Was smoking down the length of 271 to 77. Pulled into a closed rest area that was under construction. Used my cooler to get creek water to cool down the engine and refill the radiator. Finally managed to get it started, drove to a Lowes. Used their garden department's hose to do it again. Had to wait for a friend to show up to jump start it. There wasn't enough engine power to have the alternator recharge the battery. Lights were dying as I drove. Made it from Lowes to an animal clinic. Had to jump it again. Finally made it the next two miles home. Car died as I was pulling into the driveway, just coasted into a parking spot. Today had it jumped off to move it to a better parking space. It sounds so horrible as it's running. Needed to replace / rebuild the engine anyways. Just died sooner than I wanted it to.

Yesterday, as part of my rent for staying here, I had to haul up chunks of concrete from the basement to load onto a trailer. It wasn't difficult work, just so horribly humid that I was dripping with sweat afterwards. Got told the quad probably wouldn't start, but if it did, to drive it over to the wood pile to dump the concrete there. It started right up for me. Mind you that's the second four wheeler I've ever been on, and this one's entirely different than the Raptor I rode one time while I was back in Alaska. Took a moment to figure out that it used a thumb throttle and such, but got it in gear and got it over to the wood pile without incident.

I'm about a third of the way into Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter. It's a good read so far.

Getting better at billiards, at least as far as sinking shots. Maybe not so good at strategy or the technical stuff, but good enough for friendly games. Speaking of which, think I'm gonna play some right now. It's convenient having a pool table in the living room.

This country music that Uncle Tom wanted to hear is grating on me. About to change it back to something more rock related.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!