Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

8:31 p.m. - 2011-09-05
Good News, Bad News
The good news: I remembered my password here on diaryland and still have active accounts.

The bad news: All of the above plus I feel the need to write in here at all. Well, not in here specifically, but I'd like my entry to stick around for a bit longer than a status update and not get misplaced like so many of my attempts at a hard copy journal.

I've been out here on Joint Base MDL, NJ, since the 15th of August. The accommodations are nice enough: I've been staying in a single bed suite at the on base hotel. I even have a decent lil' rental car, a red HHR. As much as I like to complain about its lack of headroom and other crammed features, it does beat a g-o-v and does have satellite radio, which is better than just local stations, even if it does get a bit repetitive (which satellite radio was supposed to get us away from).

Today was Labor Day, AND I had the day off. But I didn't go anywhere. So far, (note it's after 8pm) I've only managed to make it from my room to the main building in order to use the wifi connection. Ever since Hurricane Irene hit this place, we haven't had internet in my building. Personally, I think they just need to reset their routers, as the connection to the network is still there. It just doesn't want to communicate with the outside world.

I've been in a general malaise for days, maybe longer. I certainly think I should have brought my Malifaux miniatures to paint, as well as my Wii to play, instead of bringing my quad roller skates and associated derby gear. [I've been training to be a ref for women's roller derby, despite my lack of agility and complete lack of time on skates until I began this endeavor.] The only reading material I brought with me was a book on comparative mythology, by someone regarded as an expert in the field. However, I already spotted one gaping flaw in his text, which has opened up the flood gates for further skepticism. He doesn't do a bad job of synthesizing the source material, but perhaps that's due to my lack of familiarity with most such sources and his lofty, possibly unchallenged, position in the field. I ought to make my way to the on base library tomorrow to find some lighter fare.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!