Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2:10 a.m. - 2016-06-21
New Apartment, Same Old Johnny
*blows another year's worth of dust off of my diary.*

After spending two years at my townhouse apartment on Rosemary (Super Genius Circle), I've finally moved to an apartment in the vicinity of Highland Square. It's the entire first floor of a house, and, somehow it is both smaller yet larger than my old apartment.

Something like 12 foot high ceilings, a large kitchen, a good sized foyer that I'm using as my computer/crafting room, an enormous living room (like cemetery house big), which is still full of boxes, a closet off of the living room that was once a stairwell to the second floor, and a bedroom that once must have been part of the dining room originally.

With that out of the way, on to my reasons for posting here. I have a problem. My post move malaise is hitting me harder than ever.

I've only managed to get the kitchen organized. Getting it organized was a major accomplishment, though, as parking is in the back of the house, so the kitchen is my main entryway. Seeing it in utter disarray every time I came home only made things worse.

Still, I am only able to sit in a lawn chair in the kitchen, with a tv tray stand to eat off of. I've spent these last few weeks (month even) more addicted to Facebook than ever. I could and should be organizing this place.

It's a love-hate thing with this floor plan.

The love: It will allow me to have an organizational philosophy of transparency, as I won't be able to hide things in the basement, out of sight, out of mind anymore. I'll have to clean as I go, organizing things as they'll be staring at me.

The hate: I won't be able to hide things in the basement, out of sight, out of mind anymore. I'll have to clean as I go, organizing things as they'll be staring at me.

Problem is, it's overwhelming. I really don't know where to begin.

I know I said I only organized the kitchen, which is true because that's all I have finished organizing.

However, I have managed to get my bicycle on hooks hanging from my back stoop (it's not much in the way of a porch).

I've cleared a path through to the front of the house so no more tripping over stuff.

I even managed to finally cursorily set up my computer. The layout is certainly not conducive to sitting in the foyer for any length of time. The shelf behind my chair is far too claustrophobic and close for comfort. However, I am pleasantly resigned to leaving the two shelves next to the desk, by the window, empty for my cats. It's all they've ever asked for: A space to look out the window and to be next to me while I'm on my computer.

I got off work at 2pm. I came home with every intent of being productive. I got on Facebook. I got tired eventually. I tried to sleep. It's been nearly 12 hours since I got home, and I've spent most of it refreshing Facebook.

I mentioned the cemetery house. This is the same terrible cycle I was in when MySpace was new. I need to make it stop. Blogging here might not be any more productive, but, at least I'm getting a record of it out there for later, even if that's over a year later like the gap between these entries.

What else has happened in the meantime?

Let's work back and forth.

Last entry was April of last year? End of May, instead of moving, I renewed my lease, and I attended Rock on the Range with Derek, Kyndra, and Chris...

...I haven't spoken with Chris and company in a couple of months, since their mom died of cancer

...I meant to write an entry last year about how cathartic concerts are for me, especially big festivals like RotR where I can get lost in a mosh pit.

Moving is also cathartic, but not in a good way. As far as the move, itself, this was the first time I've managed to have a slow move. After some confusion regarding a $600 deposit here, and having to Uber my ass off for a week to earn that money

I started driving for Uber (and sometimes Lyft) last October.

I got a new 2016 Mazda 6 last August (the 3rd) after my hand-me-down Civic's transmission went out while coming back from a pizza delivery. I was still working for Sam's Club bakery department at the time.

We had gotten a new team leader, and she and I butted heads too often. I couldn't reign it in, so I got myself fired. I have been relatively happier without having to wake up at 4am every day, to work my ass off for little pay and even less praises.

I got a speeding ticket in Kent from the highway patrol, so I haven't been a delivery driver since November.

I also got a zero point violation in November on my way to the Side Quesr in Lakewood to cohost for the second time for Geeks Who Drink Pub Quizzes, which I've been hosting every Wednesday at Canton's own Buzzbin, and subbing at other venues almost on a monthly basis. They pay me in money and in a bar tab.

Buzzbin has no kitchen, so I have to drink my tab. I used to have a couple drinks while I hosted, and then take the rest as cans of Coke and bags of chips. Now I'm just getting a Coke and a six pack of drinks to go. Then I tend to head down to George's for $5 burger night.

I guess I'll touch on romance: A few unrequited crushes, a breif daliance with a widow friend of friends, some closure, and now, two different sets of messages out of the blue on Plenty of Fish these last two weeks, of completely different natures.

Last week the woman could see right through me. She was insightful enough for it to be uncanny. Words to the effect of "damn the man attitude" and "sad inside but hide it behind silliness".

Yesterday, however, was someone else, who, while insightful, she was overawed by me, saying that "she probably wasn't what I was looking for," being that she "wasn't geeky enough," and that I was "far too cool for her". All her words. I tried to reassure her that she just needs to fake it 'til she makes it, and that I'm only lucky that geek culture has become popular, which makes me fashionable at the moment. This too shall pass.

Page turn: In December I started learning to play bass guitar. I briefly got to practice with Eric, James, and Kevin, in their band Ultra Violent.

Last year I was roller skating again, fairly well, too. The roller rink I frequented, GFSE Cade (God Saves Families Everyday) went out of business. I miss seeing Deacon Edwards and his wife.

Back to bass, though, it's a better hobby, but I've become complacent, as usual, in my hobby endeavors. It doesn't help that James moved to Arizona. Everything ground to a halt when he told us he was moving.

I've also recently joined the cast of an indie horror movie. I finally got to film a scene, yesterday (father's day). Just the scene of four friends driving to a cabin for my character to get married there instead of eloping to Vegas.

That's enough for now. Sorry not sorry for the disjointed manner of putting these words to the page.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!