Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

7:50 p.m. - 2016-08-20
Addendum to Barebones Rundown
Came home from work last night, ate, procrastinated until I deemed it too late to go drive, and went to bed.

------------

The other night, however, I forgot to note all of the critters who tried to cross the road in front of me.

One cat crossed in front of the two cars ahead of me to the gas station.

A deer was standing at the end of a driveway.

A skunk crossed the road.

A black cat with white paws crossed the road while I was parked to drop off half of one set of passengers.

A mouse crossed the road and stayed in my lane for far too long.

All of those were with the same passengers in the car, mind you.

Also a dog crossed in front of me.

Several deer were grazing at an on ramp.

More deer crossed at another overpass.

It was a zoo.

------------

Today, I went to my Saturday D6 Fantasy game. Didn't have work so had more time to play.

Ended up in an extended pre-game debate on politics and economics. But, after that, we had a productive session that furthered the plot.

The White Company mercenary corps had planted a lure for Grey Rangers (i.e. us) in the form of a bard (poorly) singing of various recent exploits of ours. We took him back to the local Grey Rangers station for questioning, when we were (unsuccessfully) attacked by their agents. One had killed the desk sergeant in the upstairs bedroom, which Billy's character immediately dispatched. "Time for your last dance, Eldakar." Yeah, with you.

An axe-swinging barbarian we had encountered at the tavern where me met the bard chopped a hole in the door we had barred. My Dragordian (big aquatic lizard man) character uses the haft of his Kayakor (halberd variant) to lift the bar and then stabs it through the new hole in the door, yanking back three now quite dead mooks in the process, which flings the door open. I launch myself at the barbarian, to no effect. Our dwarf and our other NPC attack him, swinging on him with his sword and firing her bow at him, respectively. Our dwarf dies in the process. My character spends a fate point and hits the barbarian with two head shots with his Kayakor, utterly pulping the guy.

During this time our pirate has launched himself out of the window in pursuit of the other fleeing seven mooks through the thunderstorm.

We get the carpenter over to fix the door and window and install the new ranger in place of the desk sergeant. We track down clues leading us to the wharf. Combat ensues with a White Company wizard, who has erected a force field bubble around their ship. Billy's character and our pirate engage with him, while I go under the water, tug on the anchor until the ship capsizes, breaking its mast against the pier and drowning the crew who wss still below deck to weather out the storm. Demanded the bard write an entire stanza recounting that deed.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!