Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

7:12 a.m. - 2016-08-26
Observational Selection Bias in Music
In a wonderful, serendipitous display of the Observational Selection Bias in action, two of Gwen Stefani's newest songs ("Make Me Want You" and "Misery"), as well as Beyoncé's "Sorry," and Shawn Mendes' "Treat You Better" have all been highlighting my situation for the last month. Hadn't heard the latter two until last night/this morning. There are a few more, I'm sure, but those are the ones that come to mind at the moment.

Yesterday after taking Gary home from the Korn and Rob Zombie concert at Blossom, I slept until the evening, worked out even though it was still hot and humid, picked up a few items from Save a Lot, and turned on Lyft and Uber.

I was at the store on Tallmadge Avenue, and had meandered my way up Home Ave to Howe when the request came in for Front Street. Took her towards Kent. Dropped her off and proceeded to Kent.

First Kent passenger was from Water Street Tavern to Ravenna. She had just graduated in May, and she and her friends had came back to party in Kent for welcome back weekend. They were supposed to leave at midnight, but they had all separated. And she couldn't get a hold of them. She was miffed that she had paid for the trip there, expecting someone else to pay on the way back, but, instead, she had to cover that trip for herself, too. Part way there, after venting, she started singing along with songs on the radio. The roads are winding, and she talked about how she had to drive down them earlier during the rainstorm, trying to follow her GPS. Dropped her off at their place and her car, safe and sound.

Headed back to Kent, got another ride from Water Street Tavern, which was a zany little adventure in itself. So, three girls come up to the car. And by come up to the car I mean, two girls are half-carrying a third, Amber, who is black out drunk and falling all over the place. They flop her into the back seat. One girl is staying at the bars. The other girl makes the mistake of sitting shotgun instead of getting in the back.

We haven't even gotten to the end of the block when Amber bolts out of the back door. Her friend gets out. Some guys standing at the curb close my doors for me. I pull around the corner, turn off the car and get out, flipping the child safety locks in the process. The friend herds Amber back to the car. She falls against me. "I wanna go back to the bar." It's only Thursday. You can go back to the bar tomorrow. "Okay." And she gets back in. Her friend gets in the back with her.

We ride down Main Street to the trailers. The whole drive Amber wants to go back to the bars. Her friend keeps listing off why she shouldn't, to include holding her up at the bar for the last hour and her falling when she jumped out of the car, where apparently her "dress was literally up to your chin".

The plan is to drop her off and drive the friend back to the bar. I let them out of the back. They get to the door. Another friend comes out. Instead of helping to get Amber inside, she just goes back inside. Amber stumbles her way back over to the car and me. "I wanna go back to the bar." It'sonly Thursday. You can go back to the bar tomorrow. "I'm fine." You're drunk. "If I were drunk, could I do this?" She proceeds to do some combination dance and drunken shuffle. I guide her by the shoulders about halfway to the door of the trailer, hold it open for her, stand there in case she falls backwards on those steps in her heels, and reassure her that she can go back to the bar tomorrow, it's only Thursday.

While driving her friend back to the bar, said friend gets on the phone with another friend, enumerating even more of Amber's exploits at the bar and saying that after babysitting her, she needs five, make that six drinks in a row. Dropped her off at 157.

Had several local trips. At almost 4am, I got a request for Hudson, roughly 20 minutes away. Took that guy to the airport.

Left the airport, got gas and food at the nearby BP and Burger King combo, and waited for riders. I was getting sleepy, and the coffee I bought wasn't helping. But I got a Lyft request from the airport. Even better, she had to head home to Akron! Told her she just made my morning. Her neighborhood is off the Miller Road exit, so after dropping her and her tiny doggy off, I went offline and headed straight home. Here I am. *yawns* And it's time for bed.

I work six to close tonight. I should try to do at least a couple of hours of driving afterwards, but I also have my Harry Potter themed quiz in tomorrow afternoon/evening, which I still need to print out the packets for, if they would stop making changes to them. And I have the role-playing game session to attend, unless it's cancelled. I don't wanna flake, but I may have to let them know I'm overbooked. We'll see how well rested I am.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!