Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12:30 p.m. - 2016-11-27
Thanksgiving Through Sunday Afternoon
I'd planned to attend two separate Thanksgiving dinners, which had slightly overlapping times. I headed down to Canton, picked up pies from the Walmart on the Strip for the dinner I was supposed to attend in Akron, and made my way to Catie's parents for the first dinner.

Also in attendance, and making a seafood spread when I arrived, was Brian MFing Jefferson, another Canton native. We shot the breeze and eventually started sharing each other's memes while sitting right across from each other at the kitchen table.

Several other guests were running late, which, unfortunately, ended up curtailing my second dinner plans, much to mine and their chagrin. The dinner and the gathered company was great, and I'm thankful to have been included.

During dinner, one of the guys had said he didn't particularly like the White Stripes, to which I replied that Jack White got what he got all despite you, and he'll get what he gets just to spite you. It was just one of many humorous moments throughout the day.

After dinner, the remaining people broke into two teams and I ran them through most of our Harry Potter themed quiz. The team names were great! They were: "The Puffs Who Huffle" and "Mind if I Slyther-in".

Afterwards, I dropped Brian off at home, and then I turned on Uber, which decided to run me ragged.

First was just a short ways away in Canton to take a pair of girls to Belden Village Mall for Black Friday shopping. Then it pulled me back and forth between Akron and Canton all night. I was not amused and didn't make nearly as much from it as I should have.

My night at Pizza Hut went well enough, followed by more Ubering, which was much more lucrative this time.

I left work, picked up a couple near Highland Square and drove them through the Valley to their parents' place off of Smith Road. Could have just taken a straight shot down Market Street, but I wasn't quite sure of the destination, and the passengers knew that we had to go through the Valley, just that we couldn't take Merriman Road because it was closed.

After dropping them off, as I didn't have another Uber request, I pulled to the end of their neighborhood and parked, taking a short, much needed, car nap. Being positioned a few minutes up the hill from the Valley and all of its bars and not far from Fairlawn and the rest of Akron, it seemed like and turned out to be a safe bet.

One Valley bar request had me taking them to Peninsula. I had pulled up, the only car to do so for a change, flashers on, and I went to text the guy. He comes out to the parking lot, looks right at my car with the flashers on, and calls me to try to find me. When I tell him he's looking right at the car, he accuses me of being rude. He and his friend get in the car. The friend, thankfully, has my back. "He's willing to take us home. He's a good guy."

Next request was back to the Valley to take five guys to Green, off Arlington Road. Initially only four guys had gotten in, but then they spotted their other buddy. He's standing with a girl. They both come to the car. He gets in on the passenger side and tells us not to let her in. She opens the driver side back door and asks, "Why are there so many guys in here?"

We leave and make it to the Copley Road exit when I notice the front seat passenger (and account holder) leaning forward and looking ill. I ask him if he's alright, do you need me to pull over. He says he's fine, but then he pukes out the window, getting it on the car. One buddy gets out to look after him. His other buddies want to know the protocol for this situation. I say as long as it's only on the outside, we'll just go to a Sheetz carwash, they'll pay for the $5 wash, and it'll be fine, which is exactly what we ended up doing.

Next rider request wasn't too far away, in Uniontown. Took that gal who was having guy problems back to her place in Ellet.

Some time during the trip, to put her problems into perspective, I was telling her about one of my friends, and how she'd gotten a couple of STDs from a guy while in a similar with seeing two different guys. My advice to her and to the passenger was that there are plenty of other guys out there, to just move on.

I went on to talk about how that friend, whose now ex-husband had also been my friend until he saw pictures of the two of us as Harley and Joker for the Suicide Squad premiere and blocked me.

I enumerated my six reasons why he shouldn't have reacted that way:

It's not like that.

It's really not like that.

It's been nearly a year since their divorce started.

He tried to move in on my ex immediately after we were broken up, before even having moved out of the house to his own apartment.

Last I heard he had a great girlfriend (which he no longer has, apparently).

And I have a girlfriend.

I rambled about other things, to include going to see an Air Force recruiter on Monday,while she was apparently entranced by me. She did catch the part about having a girlfriend, and I confirmed it. How's that working out, she wanted to know. I told her she's at tech school for the Air Force right now, so we haven't gotten to see each other for a few months (understatement). When she got out of the car she said it's too bad I have a girlfriend.

*sighs and shakes my head* I was flattered, but that's all there was to it. Single me might have considered it, though.

Next Uber pick-up was out in Norton, back to some neighborhood in Akron. At this point it was after 4am, and I was going to call it quits. Before I can click to drop him off and turn off the app, I got another ride request.

Took the next guy from fairly close by out to Wadsworth. Stopped at the Sheetz on the way back, used the restroom, got fuel, filled my tires, and headed home. Finally got in after 6am.

Went to bed for a few hours before heading to our Saturdayrole-playing game. We're playing Vampire Dark Ages. Last week my Gargoyle died. This week I introduced my new character, a Tzimisce pretending to be a known Brujah Warlord.

Worked a short shift Saturday night (last night). Brought in two of the pies I'd bought for thanksgiving to share with everyone. Was getting so tired it was painful. Headed home to take a nap before deciding whether or not to go Uber. Didn't bother to set an alarm. Woke up after 2am. Decided against going Uber. Woke up again around 7am. Played some Rock Smith and then have been lounging around, and giving my cats lovins. Going to miss them when I go. Will have to give them back to my ex, but at least they'll be well taken care of. I love these little bundles of fur. They have such great personalities.

My baby just messaged me!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!