Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

4:07 a.m. - 2017-02-13
No Phone And No Internet Makes Johnny Something, Something.
I've had a relatively productive last couple of days.

Saturday I attended our usual gaming session, which is currently Savage Worlds Cthulhu. Then I hosted my Geeks Who Drink Happy Hour Pub Quiz.

I was going to attend the premiere of Rise of Angels afterwards, but I didn't get done talking to one of my teams until too late to be able to make the drive up to Euclid in time. I was, instead, going to attend Akron Roller Derby's home opener, but I didn't have quite enough cash on me and my nose started running like a fountain.

So, instead I headed home, ate, and went to bed for what turned out to be only a two hour nap. I spent the next few hours getting books on bookshelves and otherwise organizing around my apartment.

Of my roughly 18' long living room, I have about half of it organized now. It's taken 9 months of living here, but I've finally made progress. Getting the books on shelves cleared out nine more boxes freeing up enough space for Nick Walter and I to play a board game, Santorini, on my poker table. I lost all three times, but it was an enjoyable game.

As he was leaving, Eitak Amsuc showed up, after 25 minutes of failing to find my place again. With my lack of phone service, she had to resort to asking a cop for directions. Gotta love that the neighbors' house is so ugly that he was able to tell her which street to check. She was picking up some of my army gear for her students to get a real feel for what is worn in combat, specifically during Vietnam, but I don't have enough of my older gear to truly replicate the experience. So ACU digital camouflage pattern and MOLLE gear had to suffice. She had a fairly accurate loadout, though, with weights to bring it up to a 50+ pound rucksack.

During our gaming session William King had talked about recently rereading The Thief of Always. I'd confused it with another book, but I knew I had owned a hardback copy of it at some point. All I still had had of that copy was the dust jacket, which I may have finally discarded at some point. But apparently I had picked up another paperback copy later on.

I read about half of it last night, and the rest tonight. It certainly has held up in rereading it, and, as Billy had pointed out, the story is much more powerful and touching when reread as an adult.

Thanks to Eric-Dean Dye, I do have phone service again. Thanks much. Hopefully having access again will not kill my motivational streak around the house. Cleaning and organizing it was actually giving me a palpable wave of relief as things fell into place.

I say it's taken nine months of living here to get organized, but it's been much, much longer. Moving at least once per year when I came home from active duty certainly didn't help. The last apartment, I did spend two years at, though, but I had acquired way too many store fixtures when my Radio Shack location went out of business. Finally, here, I've been putting most of it to use, but I do need to try to sell/trade off a few more of those items. Same goes for plenty of other items around here.

Consolidation has also been key. I'm finally getting like items with each other for a change. I've finally put enough of a dent in it that the single floor layout is allowing for transparency to help with organizing. I can see the disarray and move to fix it bit by bit. But, up until very recently, it's been far too overwhelming to even attempt to tackle.

Now to attempt to sleep off at least some of my symptoms. This Dollar Tree ice pack face mask helps reduce the inflammation of my sinuses, but it only helps for maybe ten minutes at a time before I have to throw it back into the freezer. Spent my whole shift at work with my nose wanting to run.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!