Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

11:00 p.m. - 2017-10-24
All That and a Bag of Chips
This morning after physical therapy, I made my first attempt at panhandling. I need to come up with two car payments, rent, and utilities. Thanks to my Stroke, I am two months behind on income.

Medical is taken care of, but it's everything else that's still looming. The GoFundMe Campaign helped immensely, to a point. But GoFundMe skims 20% right off the top.So those major campaigns that have raised millions of dollars, like for the victims of the Las Vegas shooting, GoFundMe skims millions of dollars that could go directly to helping people.

PayPal only takes 2% and emailing money to Chase bank is free.If only we had known beforehand.

So,for my first attempt at panhandling, I made a meager $15 in 5 1/2 hours. Oh, and one of the construction workers who was installing a new guard rail gave me a bag of Chex Mix. It made my day.

Lessons learned:

Dress for the weather.

Set up Venmo and post signs for it both in front of me and behind.

Be more noticeable.

I'm not going to compromise my integrity, though.

My sign is 100% honest:

Veteran
(Recent)Stroke Survivor
2 Jobs
Anything helps
Thank you! 😀

�

�

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!