Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

4:08 a.m. - 2006-10-10
Dream snippet
I had a dream that I was conversing with my Quantitative Methods teacher. He is originally from China and as such he does have an accent. Well, in the dream I was asking him if something drastic had happened to him recently because he no longer had an accent. He told me something along the lines of he didn't want to discuss it. Of course the pesky alarm clock ended the dream.

Sleep related:

I cannot seem to motivate myself to do, well, anything. On Sunday I wanted to change my brakes on Emily. (For those of you just tuning in, Emily is my black hearse.) I slept in until 5pm. I attempted to change the brakes, but they didn't want to line up properly. It was getting dark, so I decided to just put things back the way they were and deal with it later.

*sighs* I just can't seem to shake this fog.

Random thoughts: I was reading an article about children needing more time for unstructured play. My cousin Shane seems quite uncapable of entertaining himself. When he has stayed over here, he just sits there like a zombie unless I find something to entertain him. As a fourteen year old, I'd expect either access to the internet or video games to be able to hold his attention for at least a little while, but it has failed to be the case. Five minutes of one thing or another and he's bored with it.

Yeah, he has been diagnosed with ADHD. Do I agree with it? *shrugs* I haven't had the opportunity to isolate his normal behavior from that of him on his medications. At night he takes Rispatol in order to fall asleep.

Sitting awake at 4am typing this says to me that I'm not much different when it comes to having a difficult time calming my brain down enough to sleep. When I was younger and constrained to a parentally administered bedtime, I'd lie awake for hours talking to myself because I just wasn't sleepy yet. A difference between me then and me now, is that despite staying awake all night and getting up early for school, I could be awake. In fact I was rarely actually tired. Now, I can sleep for 12+ hours and still not be fully rested. Even on those few occasions when I've attempted to sleep on something of a schedule, I still feel constantly tired.

Okay, back to the original random thought I had about Shane. Since he seems to want to follow schedules and needs other people to make decisions for him, I can foresee him going into the military. He may not seem tough now, but I have a feeling that he'll get lured in by the Marines. They seem to do a more thorough job of stripping a person down to what they deem are the essentials and then building them back up again. The Army, in an effort to keep its recruiting goals up, has continued to make basic training easier with each passing rotation. I read today that potential recruits now have had the necessary ASVAB score for enlistment lowered. Currently, as long as the person has graduated high school, the test scores don't matter.

"The Army said all the recruits with low scores had received high school diplomas. In a written statement, the Army said good test scores do not necessarily equate to quality soldiers. Test-taking ability, the Army said, does not measure loyalty, duty, honor, integrity or courage...�Tests don�t tell you the answer to the most critical question for the Army, how will you do in combat?�

For the full article feel free to go to:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/15197832/

[Now the question is, have I soothed my mind into a state conducive to sleep? Or have I just touched off a fly on the spider web of spreading activation that is my mind?]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!