Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

3:01 a.m. - 2010-09-20
Relocated to Ashtabula...more moving still to follow.
I now reside in Ashtabula, but still must move the rest of my belongings up here. Yeah, it's on a short timeline, but things will go much more smoothly if I devote a day to making room to put my stuff into. As the mere pickup truckload that I brought up here already barely fits into the bedroom I'm in, I'll have to use a room downstairs for it all.

On the plus side, living with Dave has given me a broader opportunity to flex my gaming related creativity. So far it's just been Magic the Gathering and a few other board / card games, but once I get settled in here, I'll probably run a roleplaying game. I'm sure I can scare up some local players to join in the fun.

Whether I've said it before or not, moving is certainly easier when everything is already packed up. It hasn't been the gnawing source of agitation that previous moves have been. It's just been slightly draining, what with scheduling other activities that show that life still goes on even if I live further away now.

Still I feel I should be writing something more profound. Maybe my profundity is still boiling beneath the surface, and if I keep watching this pot, it'll never boil.

----------------------------------

Word of the day:

i�ma�go   
[ih-mey-goh, ih-mah-] Show IPA
�noun, plural -goes, -gi�nes  
[-guh-neez] Show IPA
.
1.
Entomology . an adult insect.
2.
Psychoanalysis . an idealized concept of a loved one, formed in childhood and retained unaltered in adult life.
Origin:
1790�1800; < NL, L imāgō; see image


I'll consider this a morsel for thought. I wasn't familiar with this term, or that there is an entire theory of couples' counseling based on it, but it certainly seems to go with a lot I have said regarding people idealizing their loved ones, putting them on pedestals, and seeing no flaws in them...or the flipside even, of scorning them for any perceived flaws that contradict the imago of them.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!