Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

5:21 a.m. - 2016-08-02
Just a Day
Worked a split shift at Pizza Hut yesterday, Monday the 1st of August. Had to get a ride to work from a coworker since my car was still in the shop.

The buffet was busy, so busy that I had to wash dishes on a Monday by necessity, not just by choice. All the cups were in rotation. I got the bus station dishes washed, finished all of my prep except slicing onions, and rode with the same coworker to Goodyear to pick up my car.

Thanks to the new lanes on 76/77, we accidentally were forced south instead of going north, but she made a not-so-legal U-ie and got us on our way. I munched on a couple of slices of bbq chicken pizza, chucking the crust out the window. "Bird food!"

Should have posted a payment to my Goodyear card yesterday or so, but I wasn't entirely sure of the amount I needed available on it, and the website was being fickle. I thought it was because my Straight Talk 4G was depleted (which it very well may be). So I was going to wait until I got there to use their wifi. Well, that seemed to be a bust, too. Finally got it to work, posted the payment, and got the confirmation. But much like Enterprise's reservation is a reservation for a reservation, the confirmation is a confirmation of a confirmation, and the actual payment doesn't post for 24 to 48 hours.

So, I'm in a bit of a bind. I spend awhile on their phone with credit services attempting to get a credit line increase, from $500 to, well, I said $750 because they said I could set any number. First it takes forever to even verify me through their security department because I have moved and changed phone numbers within the last 60 days. And, on top of that, somehow the Straight Talk number doesn't come back as registered to me. Then, after verifying that I am, indeed, me, despite having the card for a year and a half and not missing any payments, nope. No credit line increase. Like why'd you waste all of our time (mechanic serving as desk clerk, mine, first CSR, security department rep, second CSR).

Still in a bind. Mechanic serving as clerk goes to talk to the big boss. Comes back a few minutes later. I thought they worked out a way to just carbon copy my card, old school, and just run it tomorrow and/or the next day, whenever the payment clears. Instead, much to my grateful amazement, he discounts it down to within my available credit limit, with the employee discount. Thank you!

I go to leave and my windows are acting funny. One of the features that blew me away when I first got the car a year ago was that all four windows can be fully raised or lowered with just one touch of the button. Only one window is functioning that way. Hmm. So, I check the multi-media center for a window setting. Nada. Fine, whatever. I've wasted enough time, and I have to be back at work at 5. I head over to Petsmart for litter (pine pellets for the win).

Before I go inside, though, the windows are still bugging me, so I check the manual. Easy fix: With the car running, raise the window all the way from its own door switch (not just from the driver's seat), then hold the switch up for another few seconds, voila! Repeat on each door. Good to go.

I go in, glance at Halloween aquarium/terrarium decor, grab the litter, pay, and leave. It was even on sale for two bucks off. Litter secured in the trunk (where I'd forgotten my uniform shirt and hat, as well as Friday's leftovers), I head to Five Below to browse. Picked up a few of the Disney princess figurines that I was missing from the ones I had bought from Dollar Tree, so that I can spray paint them as statues, as well. Also picked up a Harley Quinn figure and some candy.

Headed towards home, but remembered I needed to pick up the money order for rent. Not only that, but I had to drop it off at the drop box. In and out of Acme in a flash, but can't seem to find the drop box number. Head home, jot it down from the lease (good thing it's on there), and headed back to the UPS Store. Dropped it off, with them time-stamping it.

Drove to work, late, but no later than usual. Was fairly busy nonstop all freaking night. One of the servers went on a Dairy Queen run and I didn't get to eat my food until I got home around 1am.

Had production help scheduled until 9pm, on the first of the month, wtf. He stayed as long as the manager would let him. It took us about an hour to break down the table, wash the pans, clean out the table, and put everything back because the orders would not freaking stop. He finally leaves, and I stay buried in orders.

One of our drivers got a flat tire. He eventually asks me, during a brief interlude between orders, if I have a four way. He's in luck; I do. He comes back in later complaining that his jack isn't working. So I then loan him my jack and even show him to put it directly under the transaxle hub to lift it, as he doesn't have anywhere else to lift it from. After making sure he's gotten the hang of it, I head back inside. Luckily, still no orders. Cycle dishes, filter the fryer (finally) and then comes the beep of orders. At a quarter 'til close, they finally stop.

Gathered up my jack and four-way and put them away properly in my trunk. Driver with the flat has now come down with something or his blood sugar plummeted or something. He was cold and shivering and felt about ready to pass out. Manager let him go home. Dough was done anyways, and the precloser had already taken out the trash, swept, and mopped. Dough just needed stickered and put away. No big deal.

Finally got through all the dishes, cleaned out/off the sinks, swept and mopped my areas, helped count the deposits, and we got to head out.

Yes, it is all that boring.

Gotta find a day job, not that I want to give up this extra income. But this isn't exactly working as sole income.

I work tonight, Tuesday, and the table gets to stay up because of their morning meeting. Then I have Wednesday off to go host Geeks Who Drink pub quizzes at Buzzbin in Canton. Thursday I have off to go see Suicide Squad with Devin, possibly in costumes as Joker and Harley (and head to Melt with the Mike Malone well beforehand). Friday I have a short shift, but I have the night off for another showing of Suicide Squad with Ron Graham. Need to message them after I post this. I don't close on Saturday. I do close on Sunday. Another split on Monday. And then heading to Pride Night at King's Island with Miller on Tuesday night. Busy week. Would've been busier with the concert. Oh well, rescheduled.

I went to watch V For Vendetta while I ate, but my baby messaged me, so we chatted the night away. During which time, I also squeezed in a workout.

So far, I've only been doing one set of everything, but I've also upped the reps to 15 of each exercise, and I'm doing three sets of benching (wide arm, close hand, and regular). It's a start. Gotta get my muscles used to the weights before I work my way up to three sets of each, at 15,12, and 10 reps each. Also need to throw in some abdominal exercises. Will have to price shop, but the interlocking padded gym mats are available at Five Below for $3/each, but I think a multi pack from other places works out even cheaper per section.

I haven't been counting calories, but I've been eating less, overall. I've cut back on soda, too. Not sure if semi sweet tea is a better option (some sweet, the rest regular), but it doesn't have carbonation or caramel coloring, so that's a start.

*yawns* It's 630am, the sky is lightening, so I am going to message them and attempt to sleep.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!