Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

4:05 p.m. - 2004-08-27
Jean le Maniac de Homicide
Yesterday I went to new student orientation at the University of Akron. I start Monday! Orientation was from 8 a.m. until around 5 p.m., but I had to stay longer for financial aid to get my textbooks. Then I decided to hunt down all my classrooms on campus. I didn't leave until almost 8 p.m.

Since I'm majoring in psychology, I had to take placement tests for math, writing, and reading. My scores shocked my advisor. She had my highschool transcript in front of her when she pulled up my test scores. Her jaw dropped. I had some miserable grades in school because I didn't "apply myself". However,I got a 41.00 on math which got me into the four credit statistics class that I need to take. Both my writing and reading scores were 99.00 which has placed me into Honors English Composition. My English class is located in the big shiny polymer building. I'm also taking Intro Sociology.

Thanks to being in the Army I don't have to take a physical fitness course. Plus the Army counts as six credits of electives. So I guess firing a rifle is an art form comparable to sculpting or ballet.

To me, my schedule looks small, but I'm getting paid to do this so I'm not going to argue with it or try to handle too much at once.

At some point I need to take a language class. I can take French, Spanish, German, Russian, Italian, Latin, Greek, Japanese, or even Sign language. I don't know which one I want to take. I've heard a strong case for taking French. Any suggestions?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!